Mawaru Penguindrum: Ringo (Apple) Curry Recipe!

In episode 3 of Mawaru Penguindrum, Ringo makes a super-special apple curry, in an attempt to seduce her stalking target and childhood crush, Tabuki. Even when her plans don’t follow through very well as per the predictions from her diary of fate, she still ends up sharing the recipe with the Takakura family, intertwining their storylines together.

Here’s a recipe for a delicious apple curry that serves approximately 4-6.

Ingredients

Chicken – x3 boneless fillets (or volume equivalent), cut into cubes
Onion – x1, diced
Garlic – x1 clove, minced
Chicken curry powder
Potatoes – ~3-4, cubed
Carrots – ~4-5, cut into smaller lengths
Granny Smith Apples – x2, peeled, de-cored, wedged, and cut into smaller bits
Butter

This recipe is very flexible.  You can adjust the relative amount of chicken, potato, and carrot to your tastes.  For Tabuki’s curry, Ringo used less carrots, and even grinded them, while overloading on the potatoes, as per Tabuki’s supposed preference.  You can even swap one meat type for another, as the meat used in episode 3 was pork.

Directions

1.  Sautee the garlic and onion in a pan with 1-2 tablespoons of butter on medium heat.  When it starts to give off an aroma, add the cuts of chicken.  Mix thoroughly on medium to high heat to let the flavor settle into the meat until it slightly darkens.  You don’t need to cook it all way.  You can start step 2 at the same time, but once step 1 is finished, you can leave it off to the side.

2.  Boil the potatoes, apples, and carrots in a separate pot with 2-3 cups of chicken broth (or alternatively, 2-3 cups of water with 2 tablespoons of chicken broth powder).  Each ingredient takes a different amount of time to boil completely, so you will want to put in the potatoes first, then add the apples after about 10 minutes, and finally the carrots about 6-7 minutes after that.

3.  Add the contents from the pan in step 1 to the stock, and let the chicken boil through.  In the meantime, create a curry roux using the original pan.  Melt 1 tablespoon of butter on low to medium heat, and add curry powder to the butter in small increments until the liquid becomes thick.  If there is still some curry powder remaining from the pack, feel free to add more butter to soften the roux, so you can add the rest to thicken it up again.

4.  Let the pot simmer down after boiling, then add the roux to the pot to thicken the sauce.  The sauce is further thickened by some of the potato and apple that were dissolved into the mix throughout the boiling process.  Let the pot simmer while you stir on low heat.

5.  Serve in approximately equal parts with rice, and enjoy!

Final Thoughts

Curry is a very easy dish to make, as all the ingredients are boiled.  To some, it’s difficult to associate apples with curry, but the sweetness of the fruit adds a nice zesty accent to an already spicy flavour.  The type of apple cultivar used is important, since some types are better suited for cooking than others.  Granny Smiths (most associated with pies) are better than Golden Delicious (which are exclusively meant to be eaten by itself), for example.

Preparing the roux may be the most difficult part of the preparation if you’ve never done a roux before, but one can simply bypass this and just put the curry powder directly into the pot, but it will be slightly more difficult to mix in.

As Ringo originally mentioned, curry is meant to be eaten with loved ones, so be sure to share this with those who deserve it!

20 thoughts on “Mawaru Penguindrum: Ringo (Apple) Curry Recipe!

  1. Years ago, I used to follow WoW blogging pretty religiously. You wouldn’t happen to be that one blogger on WoWriot who took in-game recipes and tried to cook in real life with them would you? Apologies if this is wildly random and off topic. It’s just that among the myriad of PvP theorycrafting and Blackrock drama, that particular blog stood out. I was thinking about it when I clicked your link and sure enough, Penguindrum and curry on the front page!

    • Nope, but I do have an idea about what you’re talking about. I know that there were definitely a few cooking blogs back in the day, which made sense because a noticeable number of wow-players were stay-at-home moms with excellent culinary sense.

  2. Apples, man you should try it with ground cinnamon. I wonder if it’d be too much like apple pie :3

    And you know, I don’t think I’ve ever made a curry for someone I didn’t love.

    • With a strong curry powder, I wouldn’t be too worried about it tasting like apple pie. I think cinnamon is an intriguing idea, but I’m not sure if the taste will come out in the curry sauce.

      Also, I’m very jelly. I still need to find someone to make curry for :3

  3. Wow, I’ve really got to try adding apples to my curry the next time I cook! Thanks so much for sharing this quick and easy recipe :) I’m also a big fan of food-oriented anime posts, so finding your blog was a pleasant surprise!

    • I’m glad you were able to enjoy it. I’m not much of a chef, but I like to make do with what I have. I originally planned on making the recipe for beef so that I could use my roast beef leftovers, but I accidentally bought chicken curry powder instead, which turned out to be a great decision!

      As the old adage goes, when life hands you lemons, make lemon curry with chicken :D

  4. Yummm…I may try this. We frequently cook curry, but I’ve never tried apple-flavored, and watching Mawaru Penguindrum certainly also has me interested.

    And I’m with Marina – I love food posts!

    • The only types of curry that I’ve ever eaten were thai and indian. This is the first time I’ve had japanese-style curry using roux instead of coconut juice, and eating it with white rice instead of lentils/etc. This experience will only encourage me to cook it more often, hehe.

  5. For people looking for a shortcut, there are curry cubes that are apple-flavored. Check out your local Japanese grocer/supermarket.

    I’m kind of curious as to how Ringo uses the apple sauce in her recipe…. Not quite just an apple curry there.

    • Also a good alternative. And yeah, I was looking at episode 3, and was a bit confused about what she said about her recipe. I’m thinking it could be something that was lost in translation, but I don’t know what it is really. Apple sauce in theory could help thicken the sauce, but I’d rather stick with the natural fruit than a pre-made apple sauce that may have other additives in it.

  6. This looks like a recipe my frind made me years ago and it was so delicious. The only thing I think was different is that he added currants/golden raisens, is that possible? What is “chicken” curry powder. Is it different than Indian curry, and is it only sold in specialty markets? Because the dish I had did not have the strong traditional curry taste, but there was definitely some curry powder so I am wondering about this chicken curry powder you describe.

Leave a Reply

