Baka Laureate: a 3×3 Introduction

If a picture is worth a thousand words, then this picture and caption is worth over 9000.

When I told a friend of mine over twitter that I was starting an anime blog, he immediately suggested that my first post would have to be a “top 20 anime of all time” list.  I personally agreed with his sentiment, since I am of the belief that you can learn a lot about a person simply by knowing his or her favourite movie, book, food, colour, etc.

When it comes to anime, what better way of showing one’s tastes and personality than through the 3×3, /a/’s penultimate medium through which an individual’s taste in anime is expressed, often to the point of ridicule and “HURRR DURR MY OPINION > YOUR OPINION.”  Much to my dismay, I fear that mentioning 4chan at all seems like a kiss of death regarding credibility, since anonymous is, at first glance, anti-everything when it comes to anime.  Everything is shit.  /a/ is not your fucking blog.

But here, at Baka Laureate, I am distanced away from the expectations of an anonymous messageboard, providing myself with an outlet of individual expression and opinion  outside the general thoughts and consensus within the anime community, and I feel blessed to have this opportunity.  I’ve been blogging for a few years now, authoring both a World of Warcraft blog called Frost is the New Black, as well as a writing/Japanese steampunk blog called Steampanku.  Both are hosted by wordpress.  Having been a huge fan of anime for as long as I can remember, it really did not make sense that I would blog for so long without even once writing about something that’s been a part of my personality and identy longer than Warcraft and writing combined.

But here it is, the start of what I feel is something quite special.  Something that’s been a part of me for most of my life, and will probably remain for the rest of it, combined with a fondness for writing words, and simply leaving those words where anyone can see.  It’s the beginning of an adventure, and I look forward to having you along for the ride.

7 thoughts on “Baka Laureate: a 3×3 Introduction”

    1. Top Right: Hikaru no Go (games, school life)
      Middle Left: Baccano! (adventure, supernatural)
      Middle: Millennium Actress (biographical fiction)
      Middle Right: Last Exile (you may have mistaken this for FMA) (adventure, fantasy, steam/dieselpunk)
      Bottom Left: Azumanga Daioh (comedy, school life)
      Bottom Right: Cromartie High School (comedy, school life)

Leave a Reply

