Killing Two Birds With One Post: About Me

Whenever I stumble upon a blog for the first time, the first thing I read is that author’s about page.  Not only does it give me a glimpse into the author’s personal (but not specific) life, it also gives me insight about that person’s personality, or even see a little deeper into the meaning that the author is trying to convey through the words he or she writes.

A recent example of this is a post by Crusader from THAT anime blog, where he talks about his final impressions on K-ON.  When he spoke about getting out of the army, and returned to a world of struggle driven by unemployment in (presumably) America, he really hammered the point home about how much he truly enjoyed the series.As a newcomer to the anime blogging community (and when I mean newcomer, I mean it in every sense of the word; I haven’t even read any blogs when I started writing about this medium), I would like to criticize in the most constructive way possible that a large number of these blogs don’t feel “personal” enough.

And while this may primarily apply to things such as anime reviews and whatnot, the first thing that should be somewhat personal is the About page.  It’s probably assumed that anime bloggers are stereotypical NEETs and otakus who still live in their parents’ basements, but I am convinced that this is hardly the case.

In my other home blogosphere, the WoW blogosphere (affectionately called the InterNether), these bloggers showcase that they come from all walks of life other than headset-wearing zitfaces who loves to spend their days pwning n00bs.  Likewise in the anime blogosphere, these authors have an opportunity to showcase themselves in a light outside of the otaku stereotype, that there is more to them than being a neckbeard who hugs pillows with pictures of their waifu printed on the cases as they sleep.  Not that there’s anything too wrong with that!

Thus, I’d like to use this post as a means to talk a little about myself.  I am a 24-year old male living in Toronto, currently working at home as a customer service representative for a credit card company.  I graduated from the University of Toronto with a degree in Forensic Science, and am trying to get into shape so I can join the police force in the Greater Toronto Area.At the same time, I have a passion for writing, which explains why I finally gotten into blogging about anime, as it marries my passion for anime and my passion for writing together.

I am also an aspiring novelist, who started off writing Naruto fanfiction high school, and graduating onto more original works, even participating in National Novel Writing Month (which is going on right now as we speak!).My tastes in anime are as varied as they come.  I have enjoyed anime that have come from a wide range of genres varying from Slice of Life, to Action, to Psychological, to Josei, to Mecha, to even Yaoi (Princess Princess was very charming and totally worth the 15 dollar price tag offered to me at Anime North!)

I am currently watching shows from this year’s Fall Season, as well as re-watching shows for inspiration for my current Novel, which can be explained as a mashup between Samurai Champloo and Steamboy.That’s pretty much it about me.  If you wish to contact me, you can talk to me via twitter @krizzlybear, as well as Formspring under the same name.

3 thoughts on “Killing Two Birds With One Post: About Me”

Leave a Reply

