A Step in the Write Direction

And suddenly, out of nowhere, Baka Laureate became an anime and fanfiction blog.

Making the Write Decision

If you’ve been reading my blog since its inception last November, you probably would have seen this coming from a mile away.  After all, the blog itself was born during NaNoWriMo, a month-long worldwide activity that challenges writers of all kinds to write a 50,000 word novel from scratch.  In my more analytical posts, I place a very large emphasis on the series/episode’s story and plot.  As well, I’ve taken a recent focus on Light Novels themselves.  Add the fact that I’m an aspiring steampunk novelist and former fanfiction writer, it makes sense that this blog would head in that direction.

The reasons for making this slight shift was quite simple.  It’s been two years since I wrote my first draft of Guardian, the Edo-based steampunk novel that I wrote for NaNoWriMo, and despite my best efforts, rewriting was quite difficult to do, and changes in real life severely disrupted my ability to plan out good writing time, and as such, I’ve reached a huge writing funk.

I made this blog because I wanted to talk about writing in anime and all its mediums, and that maybe doing so would get me back into the flow of writing my own fiction, but looking at what I’ve posted so far, I think that the practice that I get is insufficient.  I also have the urge to pick up where I left off with anime fanfiction as well.  When I was younger, long before I started writing regular fiction, I wrote nearly exclusively from the Naruto franchise.  But several years later, not only do I feel that I’ve gotten better as a writer, but I also want to branch out into other shows.

The Write Goals

1. To expose Sturgeon’s other 10%

Thanks to the huge repository of fanfiction on the Internet, namely fanfiction.net, there is no doubt that there is a huge amount of utterly bad fanfiction out there.  It’s one of the unattractive sides to fanfiction, and most people just don’t want to sift through all of it.

I’m probably not alone on this, but I certainly do accept the fact that there’s a lot of bad writing on the internet, but I enjoy the payoff of finding the good ones.

2. To improve as a writer by writing taking a fanfiction approach to the blog

There’s a definite link between bloggers analyzing plot and character to death and that of the canon that fanfiction writers are often expected to adhere to.  Extensive knowledge of characters helps provide a great base of source information from which to write.  By extension, regular fiction writing is the same as fanfiction writing such that authors need to make their characters believable and consistent in their profiles.  Good authors keep a collection of notes on their own original characters, settings, and whatnot, which is no different from writing from source material of an existing show.

A lot of fanfiction writers tend to graduate to writing original fiction.  Additionally, a lot of published authors have their beginnings in fanfiction.  The select lucky few get to write glorified fanfiction legitimately through tie-in novels and spinoffs.  Nisio Isin’s Another Note and Another Holic are two prime examples of exemplary fanfiction.  It would be pretty cool if I could reach that level one day.

3. To finally get that book published

My small collection of rough drafts are far from finished, but hopefully I’ll get around to writing them with the knowledge that I gain through analyzing the stories and writing of existing authors, shows, series, etc.

Fanfiction Project #1: Endless Summer

Bitmap (@8bmp on twitter) started an awesome event last year called Endless Summer, taking place on Skype at 8pm every day from the 17th to the 31st of August, watching the entire Haruhi Suzumiya series in a special order, with 2 episodes per day, finishing off with the Disappearance movie on the final day.  Most notably, Endless Eight will be watched specifically during each day on the weekend. This year, I joined in on the fun, and yesterday was quite an awesome start to the event.

Of all the different stories in the canon of Haruhi Suzumiya, I am the most drawn to Endless Eight in particular.  Despite being a single short story in The Wrath of Haruhi Suzumiya, the emphasis on the hopelessness of the thousands and thousands of loops was brought to the foreground in the anime series, much to the polarization of its fanbase.  Regardless, the fanfiction possibilities here are amazing, and combined with a crazy idea I had on twitter, I am going to put my foot down and actually go with it:

A crossover fanfic where the time loops of Endless Eight were caused by the cast of Puella Magi Madoka Magica (or possibly vice versa).

Yeah, totally out there, but I’ll talk about it a bit more in the days to come, but not only that, I plan on writing it specifically during the period between August 17 and August 31 of this year.  Consider this the planted flag that decries to the rest of the aniblogosphere, “This blog now falls within the domain of fanfiction writing.”

8 thoughts on “A Step in the Write Direction”

  1. Krizzzzz! Hope you have fun doing this! I haven’t written any fanfiction before, but if I did it probably would be very Railgun/Index ahaha well with one original character having run ins with some of the more known characters.

    Well one day xD

    1. I hope that I can put in some educational posts outlining the ways one can make fanfiction writing easier and more seamless.

  2. Ooh, new project! Best of luck with it, Krizzy, and with maintaining your momentum. And also best of luck with the editing process if you decide to revisit your previous drafts (just tell yourself how many drafts some of your favourite works would’ve gone through before being placed on the bookstore shelves, eh!).

    I look forward to reading your published work, one day! 🙂

    1. “just tell yourself how many drafts some of your favourite works would’ve gone through before being placed on the bookstore shelves, eh!”

      That implies that I would have to re-write my draft that many times. yikes, lol!

  3. I was smiling because this is almost exactly how my girlfriend has always wanted to get through her writing. NaNoWriMo is her life about twice a year or so, so it was definitely nice to see this idea. I’ll show her your blog.

    But then I got to the part with your fanfic idea and suddenly… I couldn’t help but burst out laughing. I am not much of a reader of fanfiction, but with a story like that (and a writing style like yours, from what I’ve read here), I am extremely interested. I would advise that you don’t over-weave your story so much that you have to abandon it in the middle when your readers are looking forward to the next chapter… but who am I kidding? You’re the writer. You know what you’re doing. =P

Leave a Reply

