12 Days of Anime #5: A Message From the Future

Greetings,

If you are reading this, then most likely, you’ve already watched episode 23 of Steins;Gate. You’ve already seen the failure of Okabe Rintarou, as he tried to save the love of his life, Kurisu Makise. Much like his other failures in trying to save his dear friend Mayuri Shiina in multiple timelines, it only took one failure for him to break down into hopelessness.

But that wasn’t the case. It only took a message from none other than his future self to open his eyes, that he could do whatever he wanted because he was not just Okabe Rintarou, but Hououin Kyouma, the maddest fucking scientist in all of fiction.

And here you are, reading this message from the future. My friends, as you may have already found out from this utterly fantastic show, there is never hopelessness. There is only hope. That one day, we may rise above the defeats that define our lives, and strive towards a noble goal. It is a goal that seeks to change the fabric of this very world we live in, this very timeline. In the end, it is everyone’s goal to achieve their ideal alpha timeline, to reach their own personal Steins;Gate.

Such hope doesn’t simply accumulate overnight. It takes suffering. It takes pain. It takes a trip to the utter depths of hell, the kind of depths that fills you with despair and makes you feel trapped and unable to see the light from above.

My friends, this message, sent from the future, is that light. I know what happens in the future, because I’ve already seen it. It’s been my life’s work to ensure that the future you aim for is the future that you will get. Everyone wants to live out their Steins;Gate.

It won’t come without a cost. You’ll need to work hard. You’ll need to gather up the courage that you’ve shown when you’ve faced demons before. You’ll need to be like Okabe, who never gave up on Mayuri, no matter how many times she perished in countless timelines. You’ll need to seek out your inner-Kyouma and make the impossible possible.

I know you can do it. I know that you will do it. As 2011 winds down, look forward to a bright future where your dreams are realized. I’ve already seen it happen. It’s up to you to grab it. Your Steins;Gate.

I’ve said everything that I needed to say, so go get ’em, friend. El. Psy. Congroo.

4 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime #5: A Message From the Future”

  1. One of the best episodes of Steins;gate ever, we got to see how painful time travel can be especially when you try to change someones fate of getting killed! They always end up dead in a different way…but that twist at the end I did not see coming at all! But still a great ending…now to wait for that movie and OVA special.

    Okabe best mad scientist next to Hakase of course ❤

    1. it was completely unexpected. and I’m willing to disregard the potentially inaccurate mechanics of time travel in this show simply because of how awesome it uses the concept to drive the story.

  2. Way to turn a post about an anime into an uplifting pep talk. Great, job, sir. Commendable, commendable indeed. Its invigorating properties certainly worked on me.

    I really can’t get enough into how much I love this show, slightly convoluted ending and all. But oh, boy, was it SPECTACULAR.

    But really, thanks for the pick-me-up. Made my day, and really needed it.

    1. Thanks. I’m glad it made someone’s day. I’m not normally one to worry about comment responses, but considering the reception I’ve been getting from the other 12 days posts, I’m a bit surprised to see this one being an outlier. Shame, because I’m particularly fond of this one compared to the others.

Leave a Reply

