12 Days of Anime #1: Digital Girl and the Azure Conspiracy

In November 2011, I completed NaNoWriMo for the third straight year, despite some devastating setbacks. I buckled down and finished the first draft at 50,000 words on the final day of November, and managed to establish a starting point for my Light Novel project. Here’s a synopsis from my NaNoWriMo profile:

Azure is a digital system that spans across the entirety of a fractured Japan that was rocked by a massive Earthquake in the year 2011. In present time, it connects people and places together in ways that no other technology has ever done before. It provides its users with interconnectivity through the usage of avatars, digital projections that take the form of whatever the user pleases, capable of physical contact. Because these avatars can be projected anywhere, there’s no real need to go outside.

In Katsuragi City, a wave of mysterious disappearances is sweeping the fashionable youth of the district. However, anime geek Satou Sakamoto is too deep in his own world of Magical Girl shows to notice. However, when the source of the disappearances targets Satou, he is saved by an avatar that takes the form of a magical girl. His situation continues to get weirder as he draws attention from the ruthlessly enthusiastic Saki Sasaki, a cloud cuckoolander from his homeroom class, known for her public declarations of Magical Girl Fandom. What’s Saki’s connection to the magical girl who saved Satou? Who is behind the disapperances? The answer, as the two of them will find out, lies in the secrets of the Azure.

It’s raw, and requires a lot of work. But I’m ready to put a lot of time in refining the work and turning it into a better version of itself. But I can only go so far as a writer. I can’t draw if my life depended on it. For a supposed light novel project, that’s the biggest snag.

So, starting in the new year, I’ll be starting an ongoing series of posts highlighting the process of writing of a novel (specifically in this case, a light novel), and go through some of the different aspects that go into writing in general. I still consider Baka Laureate as an anime blog, but Light Novels are going to be a significant part of this blog’s identity going forward.

Also, I’ll be looking for an artist who can draw in the manga style. I want Digital Girl to be a sort of partnership between a writer and artist. I’m looking for a situation similar to Bakuman, between Takagi and Mashiro, except without the promises of success with high school flames that get in the way of creative progress. As one would say, prose before Hoes. (I’m just kidding. Bakuman is fine as a manga, but you’ll never see me watching the anime any time soon).

I look forward to sharing this story with you in the new year. Merry Christmas, anime fans, to you and yours. And by yours, I actually mean your waifus. I hope you enjoyed the 12 days of Anime series of posts. I’ve certainly enjoyed writing it, as well as reading others’ entries as well. I look forward to next year, so that we’ll have another excellent 12 days to look back on the fondest moments of the year.

6 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime #1: Digital Girl and the Azure Conspiracy”

  1. Found your blog during a random internet search, and it sounds interesting. Good luck to you all the way, and if you continue having trouble finding an artist, feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

